Facebook Messenger gets video calling to counter Skype and Hangout

By | April 29, 2015

Facebook Inc on Monday launched video calling feature on its messenger app in order to offer a fully loaded platform to its 1.4 billion strong user base. It may also be seen as a move to take on rivals like Skype, Hangout and FaceTime,which are popular among masses for video calling services.

In case you need to video call one of you contacts then simply open the conversation window and just tap on the new camera icon located in the top right corner. Your contact will receive the incoming video call notification as soon as you call them and they may accept or reject it. The best thing is that an Android user can call up an iOS user.

Facebook messenger video calling feature

Facebook messenger has become a must have app for both Android as well as iOS users. But of late many users were missing video calling functionality widely available on other messaging platforms. Messenger currently boasts of around 600 million active users and with addition of video calling, it is expected to head further north. Earlier this year Facebook also launched messenger video and voice calling between computers.

So Facebook messenger now stands face to face with Microsoft Corp’s Skype, Apple’s FaceTime and Google Inc’s Hangout, as the later three have been providing video calling between mobile devices for long.

“Video calling will expand Messenger’s real-time communication features, enabling the more than 600 million people who use Messenger every month to reach others wherever they are, from anywhere. It’s fast, reliable and high quality,” the company said.

Also Read: Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg meets Indian PM Narendra Modi

Unfortunately the messenger video calling feature has been rolled out to some limited markets as of now. However, Facebook has elaborate plans to roll out this feature to all of its users soon. Users from following markets have received the latest Facebook messnger video calling update – Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Ireland, Laos, Lithuania, Mexico, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, the UK, the U.S. and Uruguay.